Post new topic   Reply to topic    ShadowBane Forum Index -> PUBLIC CHAT/INTRODUCTIONS/CoC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Uhtread

re: Greetings New Kin

Hello all, thank you for the warm greetings the other night. Sorry it has taken me a couple of days to get to my intro post. Deadline at work and all that entails.

A little information about myself. I turned 40 this year and thankfully still have enough kid in me to enjoy gaming. I live in Northern Wisconsin deep in the north woods on Lake Superior. Somehow I'm luck enough to live close to a hwy that actually has fiber optic running down it, which keeps me in my guilty pleasure of broadband. I miss the speeds of cable but am still able to game and do the netflix thing without a hitch. So I'm happy. For work I am a web developer, specifically LAMP/WAMP with most of the emphasis being on mysql/php, most of the sites I work with are remotely hosted, I almost never have to mess with the admin side of things. (Insert diety here) help me if I ever have to. I do both consultation on the side and have been lucky enough to find the only webmaster job that exists in this part of the northwoods. If I'm not working or in middle earth my passion is being outdoors. I hike, backpack, canoe and am slowly coming off the grid piece by piece into a homesteading lifestyle. I know homesteading and computers. I live in a weird state of duality.
My love of scifi/fantasy love comes from the big three. Reading Tolkien as a kid, watching Star Trek with my father, and of course Star Wars. I was actually at each opening night for all three of the original movies. However growing up in the woods has always made Tolkien the top of the tier. It was easy to put down the book or early audio tape, that's right TAPE, strap on the wooden sword and walk out the door into mirkwood, lorien or the like.